Proposal to split Honiton and Tiverton constituency

  Posted: 08.06.21 at 08:10 by Hannah Corfield

us on Facebook

  See our new Community section

The Honiton and Tiverton constituency could be split in changes proposed by the Boundary Commission for England.

The existing constituency is currently represented in parliament by Conservative MP Neil Parish. The proposals would see it split into separate Honiton and Tiverton and Minehead constituencies.

The new Honiton constituency would include Honiton, Cullompton, Axminster and Seaton, as well as Sidmouth and Ottery which would be moved from the current East Devon constituency, represented by Conservative Simon Jupp MP.

A new Exmouth constituency would replace the remainder of the current East Devon constituency.

Tiverton would be combined with the current Bridgewater and West Somerset constituency, represented by Conservative Ian Liddell-Grainger MP, to create the new Tiverton and Minehead constituency.

The Boundary Commission’s current review will conclude with a formal report and recommendations in June 2023, which are likely to be implemented.

The aim is to make parliament fairer by giving each MP a roughly similar number of voters.

Scotland and Wales will see the number of MPs cut, while England gains 10 seats overall.

The proposals are currently under public consultation until August 2. Maps and details on how to submit a response are available here.

Like this article? Sign up to our weekly newsletter...
The number of people acting as carers in Devon has risen during the Covid-19 pandemic, and now stands at 130,000. But it’s thought only 21,00...

Upcoming Honiton Event...

Poetry Please!

A friendly, informal group invite people who enjoy reading, writing or just listening to poetry to join them on Wednesday 20th October 2pm-4pm at the ...